ALGIERS – Saturday, 22 October 2022 (APS) – The President of the Republic, Abdelmadjid Tebboune chaired Saturday the ceremony to honor the winning journalists of the 8th edition of the President of the Republic’s Award for the Professional Journalist themed “Sixtieth Anniversary of Independence: Yesterday’s Challenges, Today’s Challenges.”

The ceremony took place at the People’s Palace, in the presence of the President of the Council of the Nation (Upper House), Salah Goudjil, the President of the People’s National Assembly (Lower House), Brahim Boughali, the Prime Minister, Aïmene Benabderrahmane, the President of the Constitutional Court, Omar Belhadj, and the Chief of Staff of the People’s National Army (ANP), Army General Said Chanegriha. 

The Chief of Staff at the Presidency of the Republic, Abdelaziz Khellaf, the Secretary General of the Presidency of the Republic, Abdellah Moundji, the Minister of Communication, Mohamed Bouslimani, members of Government, advisers to the President of the Republic, senior officials and many journalists attended the ceremony. 

Held on the occasion of National Press Day, celebrated on October 22 of each year, the ceremony to honor the winning journalists aims to promote national media production and to encourage creativity and professionalism by establishing a culture of merit and distinction of the best media works related to the proposed theme. 

The competition concerns five (5) categories, namely written press (feature article, review, editorial, report or investigation), television media (report, investigation, documentary, documentary film and sequence in informative and audiovisual images), and radio (information program and report).

The 4th category of the Award is the electronic press and the 5th category is dedicated to illustration (photography, drawing, and press cartoon published by national media).